Thu, 05 Aug 2021

Panthers' Joel Quenneville among Jack Adams finalists

Field Level Media
12 Jun 2021, 01:55 GMT+10

Florida Panthers coach Joel Quenneville was named a finalist for the 2020-21 Jack Adams Award on Friday.

He joined the Carolina Hurricanes' Rod Brind'Amour and Minnesota Wild's Dean Evason as finalists for the award, which is presented to the head coach who has "contributed the most to his team's success."

The winner will be announced as part of the 2021 NHL Awards during the Stanley Cup semifinals or Final.

Quenneville, 62, captured the award with the St. Louis Blues in 1999-2000 and is aiming to become the Panthers' first Jack Adams Award winner in franchise history. The three-time Stanley Cup recipient guided Florida to a franchise record in points percentage (.705) after posting a 37-14-5 record this season.

Brind'Amour, 50, led the Hurricanes to the Central Division title after posting a 36-12-8 mark and is also bidding to become the first winner of the award in franchise history. Carolina eliminated the Nashville Predators in the first round before falling to the defending Stanley Cup champion Tampa Bay Lightning in the second.

Evason, 56, guided the Wild to their best regular-season points percentage in franchise history (.670, 35-16-5) during his first full season as an NHL coach. He is attempting to become the second Wild coach to win the award since Hall of Famer Jacques Lemaire in 2002-03.

Boston Bruins coach Bruce Cassidy won the Jack Adams Award last season.

--Field Level Media

More St Petersburg (Florida) News

Access More

Sign up for The St Petersburg News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!